Information about Hampstead
Hampstead Norreys lies on the river Pang, seven miles north-east of Newbury. In
the Middle Ages it was named Hampstead Sifrewast after its Norman lord, changing to Hampstead Norreys in 1450, when
the village was acquired by the Norreys family from Bray. The Norris spelling was used more in the past, but
Norreys tends to prevail today.
There are approximately 330 houses in the village and the 2001 census recorded a
population of 748. The village has a vibrant community shop, pub and energetic church. There are many clubs and
other social activities in the community most of which are reported on this site.